Concord, N.H. (August 8, 2022)  – Beginning this fall, student identification (ID) cards issued by New Hampshire’s community colleges will include mental health resource information to ensure students have ready access to help when experiencing a crisis or other mental health challenge. As the New Hampshire Legislature was considering SB234 this spring, a bill requiring student identification cards to include the telephone number for the national suicide prevention lifeline, New Hampshire’s community colleges were planning for this measure which brings important information about mental health resources to students. 

To support and expand this effort, IDs issued by the community colleges will include the New Hampshire Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence helpline and the 741741 Crisis Text Line, in addition to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline toll-free and new three-digit helpline.

“As rates of suicide and mental health concerns continue to increase among college student populations, we applaud those who came forward to advocate for this common-sense and compassionate measure to ensure that students have access to information that could save lives,” said Meghan Eckner, CCSNH Chief of Staff and Executive Assistant to the Board of Trustees. “CCSNH is committed to the success of all students, and supporting their health and wellbeing, in addition to their  academic and career readiness goals, is an important part of our mission. Listing these resources on ID cards is another way for us to support our students and their mental health.”

Immediate help for someone dealing with a mental health crisis can be lifesaving. New Hampshire community colleges make a variety of mental health supports available to students that encompass college services and programming, relationships with partner providers, and access to a 24/7 online support students can access at no charge to connect with professional services for mental health, crisis counseling, and other resources.   

On August 3, 2022, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu urged the school community to implement Senate Bill 234 as an immediate priority.

The Community College System of NH consists of seven colleges, offering associate degree and certificate programs, professional training, transfer pathways to four-year degrees, and dual-credit partnerships with NH high schools. The System’s colleges are Great Bay Community College in Portsmouth and Rochester; Lakes Region Community College in Laconia; Manchester Community College; Nashua Community College; NHTI – Concord’s Community College; River Valley Community College in Claremont, Lebanon and Keene; and White Mountains Community College in Berlin, Littleton and North Conway. 

Leave a Reply

Latest News