

Board of Trustees COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of July 1, 2022

Present (teleconference): Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Acting Chair), Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary), Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Robert Baines (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Todd Emmons, Trustee Hollie Noveletsky, Trustee Bryant Abbott, Trustee Donnalee Lozeau, Trustee Richard Ackerman, Trustee Greg Eastman, Trustee Heather Burwell, Chancellor & Interim NHTI President Mark Rubinstein, Marie-Helene Bailinson (NH Department of Employment Security), Stephen Appleby (Department of Education), Shannon Reid (CCSNH)

Regrets: Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Will Cunningham, President Brian Bicknell (MCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Alfred Williams (RVCC), President Cheryl Lesser (GBCC), President Lucille Jordan (NCC), Jonathan Melanson (Governor's Office), Commissioner Taylor Caswell (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs)

Chair Shields called the meeting to order at 11:01 am. No conflicts of interest were expressed. Regarding the conduct of a telephonic meeting, the chair declared an emergency meeting, counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location, under the NH Right to Know Law, RSA 91-a:2, III (b), based on the following findings:

- i. The individual members of this Committee live and work in locations remote to any single meeting place;
- ii. Given the members' various professional and personal schedules it is not reasonably practical to gather a quorum of the Committee members in a single place for a physical meeting;
- iii. The business presented cannot be delayed until the committee's next regularly scheduled meeting;
- iv. The interests of CCSNH, its students, faculty, and staff, and the State of New Hampshire will be best served by the committee's expeditious consideration of and decision on the matter presented.

Non-Public Session

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Abbott, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:3, II (b), in order to discuss hiring of a public employee.

The Board entered the non-public session at 11:03 am and returned to public session at 11:09 am. No votes were taken in the non-public session.

- **VOTE:** The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to seal the minutes based upon RSA 91- A:3, III that divulgence of the information likely would render the proposed action ineffective and adversely affect the reputation of a person.
- **VOTE:** The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to appoint Patrick Cate as Interim President of Lakes Region Community College at the gross annualized salary of \$140,000, plus the assignment of a fleet vehicle for business and



commuting purposes, effective July 21, 2022 through January 21, 2023. The appointment may be extended up to three months at the discretion of the Chancellor, contingent on the time of a new President's selection and start date.

Regarding internal and external communications, the system and campus have been notified of the chancellor's recommendation to appoint Mr. Cate to Interim President, pending board approval, and Ms. Reid will issue a public announcement next week.

<u>Other Business</u> No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 11:14 am.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner Chief of Staff; Executive Assistant to the Chancellor & Board of Trustees