

## **Board of Trustees**

## COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of August 12, 2022

Present (teleconference): Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Acting Chair), Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Robert Baines (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Todd Emmons, Trustee Hollie Noveletsky, Trustee Bryant Abbott, Trustee Donnalee Lozeau, Trustee Richard Ackerman, Trustee Greg Eastman, Trustee Heather Burwell, Chancellor & Interim NHTI President Mark Rubinstein, Marie-Helene Bailinson (NH Department of Employment Security), Stephen Appleby (Department of Education)

Regrets: Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Christopher Dodge, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Will Cunningham, President Brian Bicknell (MCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Alfred Williams (RVCC), President Cheryl Lesser (GBCC), President Lucille Jordan (NCC), Jonathan Melanson (Governor's Office), Commissioner Taylor Caswell (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs)

Chair Shields called the meeting to order at 10:13 am, following an executive session of the board, pursuant to RSA 91-A:2, I (a) to discuss strategy with respect to collective bargaining. No conflicts of interest were expressed. Regarding the conduct of a telephonic meeting, the chair declared an emergency meeting, counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location, under the NH Right to Know Law, RSA 91-a:2, III (b), based on the following findings:

- i. The individual members of this board live and work in locations remote to any single meeting place;
- ii. Given the members' various professional and personal schedules it is not reasonably practical to gather a quorum of the board members in a single place for a physical meeting;
- iii. The business presented cannot be delayed until the board's next regularly scheduled meeting in September;
- iv. The interests of CCSNH, its students, faculty, and staff, and the State of New Hampshire will be best served by the committee's expeditious consideration of and decision on the matter presented.

## MOU and CBA Extension for the Staff Bargaining Unit

**VOTE:** The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Calhoun, voted unanimously by roll call to approve the Memorandum of Understanding and Collective Bargaining Agreement Extension for the Staff Bargaining Unit that provides a 3% salary increase effective August 12, 2022; recognizes the addition of the Juneteenth Holiday (June 19); allows for the accrual of compensatory time for staff required to work during a designated winter recess day; and extends all other terms and conditions of employment contained in the current collective bargaining agreement through June 30, 2023.

## Other Business

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 10:20 am.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Chief of Staff; Executive Assistant to the Chancellor & Board of Trustees