

Audit Committee

CCSNH BOARD OF TRUSTEES Meeting of February 17, 2022

Present: Trustee Tricia Lucas (Chair), Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Stephen Ellis (teleconference), Trustee Todd Emmons, Director of Internal Audit Ann-Marie Hartshorn (CCSNH), Director of Risk Management and Insurance Programs Jason Bishop (CCSNH), CCSNH Chancellor Mark Rubinstein, CCSNH Board Chair Kathy Bogle Shields, CCSNH Director of Financial Operations Kim Brent, CCSNH Controller John Harrington (teleconference)

Regrets: Trustee Steven Slovenski

Others Presenting to the Committee (videoconference): WMCC President Chuck Lloyd, Dr. Susan Huard, O'Connor and Drew: Mike Cronin, Mike Cosgrove, and David Dilulis; CLA Clifton Larson Allen: Andy Lee, Mike Johns, Jean Bushong, Don Loberg, Kadian Douglas, Brenda Scherer, Luke Winter, and Christina Dooley; BerryDunn: Robert Smalley, Katharine Balukas

The Chair called the meeting to order at 2:10 pm in 301 Grappone Hall, NHTI, Concord, NH.

Update on Strategic Planning

President Lloyd and Dr. Huard provided an update on strategic planning. Pillars have been aligned to trustee committees. Plan implementation will be discussed at the board retreat this summer. The next step for further developing the pillars is to identify metrics to track progress on pillar goals, and President Lloyd and Dr. Huard will meet with the institutional researchers across the system to begin that work. Committee members are invited to send feedback and suggestions. The next update will be provided at the committee meeting in May.

Approval of November 18, 2021 Minutes

VOTE: The Committee, on motion of Mr. Emmons and seconded by Ms. Stevens, voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the November 18, 2021 meeting as written.

RFP for External Audit Services & Firm Presentations

As the contract with current audit firm BerryDunn is ending, Ms. Hartshorn published a request for proposals (RFP) for audit services. Ms. Hartshorn scheduled presentations to the committee by each firm that responded to the RFP.

Mike Cronin, Mike Cosgrove, and David Dilulis from O'Connor and Drew provided an overview on the firm, highlighting their higher education experience, client service orientation, and strong communications.



Representatives from the firm of CLA Clifton Larson Allen included Andy Lee, Mike Johns, Jean Bushong, Don Loberg, Kadian Douglas, Brenda Scherer, Luke Winter, and Christina Dooley. The firm highlighted their experienced and dedicated team, high level of client service, and their commitment to timely and quality services.

Robert Smalley and Katharine Balukas presented for the firm of BerryDunn, highlighting their specialized knowledge and subject matter experts, high level of principal and senior manager involvement, integrated audit approach, board and leadership education, practical recommendations, and the strengths of the BerryDunn team.

Following the interviews, committee members discussed the strengths and weaknesses of each firm. Given the high level of satisfaction that CCSNH and members of the committee reported with the service that BerryDunn has provided in the past, the committee supports continuing this relationship with the firm.

VOTE: The Committee, on motion of Mr. Emmons and seconded by Mr. Stevens, voted unanimously to renew the engagement with BerryDunn for a period of three years, as presented.

Other Business

No further business was stated. The meeting was adjourned at 3:58 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees