

Board of Trustees COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of June 30, 2021

Present (teleconference): Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Acting Chair), Trustee Robert Baines (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary), Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Todd Emmons, Trustee Jeff Cozzens, Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Hollie Noveletsky, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Marie-Helene Bailinson (NH Department of Employment Security), Joseph Doiron (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs), Interim Chancellor Susan Huard

Regrets: Trustee Bryant Abbott, Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Darrin Daniels, President Brian Bicknell (MCC), President Lucille Jordan (NCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Gretchen Mullin-Sawicki (NHTI), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Alfred Williams (RVCC), Interim President Cathryn Addy (GBCC), Governor Christopher Sununu, Commissioner Frank Edelblut (Department of Education)

Others Presenting to the Board (teleconference): Mark Broth (Drummond Woodsum), Scott Fields (CCSNH), Monica Bradley (CCSNH), Shannon Reid (CCSNH)

Chair Shields called the meeting to order at 12:02 pm and called the roll. With respect to the need for a special meeting to conduct urgent board business, the Chair declared an emergency meeting, pursuant to RSA 91-A:2, III, to allow the conduct of a telephonic meeting counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location.

Non-Public Session

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A: 3, II (a) and RSA 91-A: 3, II (b), in order to discuss personnel matters.

The Board entered non-public session at 12:05 pm and returned to public session at 12:28 pm. Two votes were taken in the non-public session. Mr. Rothenberg joined the meeting at 12:08 pm.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to seal the minutes until Thursday, July 1 at 12 pm, based upon RSA 91- A:3, III, in that divulgence of the information may affect adversely the reputation of persons other than CCSNH voting trustees.

Other Business

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 12:30 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees



CCSNH BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Meeting of June 30, 2021

NON-PUBLIC SESSION (Minutes Sealed)

Present: Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Acting Chair), Trustee Robert Baines (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary), Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Todd Emmons, Trustee Jeff Cozzens, Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Hollie Noveletsky, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Marie-Helene Bailinson (NH Department of Employment Security), Joseph Doiron (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs), Interim Chancellor Susan Huard, Mark Broth (Drummond Woodsum), Scott Fields (CCSNH), Monica Bradley (CCSNH), Shannon Reid (CCSNH)

The non-public session was called to order at 12:05 pm. With respect to the need for a special meeting to conduct urgent board business, the Chair declared an emergency meeting, pursuant to RSA 91-A:2, III, to allow the conduct of a telephonic meeting counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location.

Ms. Shields presented the enthusiastic recommendations of the CCSNH Chancellor Search Committee and of the CCSNH Executive Committee to appoint Dr. Mark Rubinstein, current President of Granite State College, as the next CCSNH Chancellor. Dr. Rubinstein has agreed to accept an annual salary of \$330,000, which is below the top of the range that was established for the position and a lateral salary move for the candidate.

Mr. Cozzens spoke to Dr. Rubinstein's analytical approach, his vast experience, and his intimate knowledge of NH, and Ms. Harris noted the value he places on people and his history of developing employees for succession. Ms. Lucas reported that he is widely respected among all CCSNH presidents. With respect to the concern expressed regarding Dr. Rubinstein's lack of experience working with industry, Mr. Cozzens believes this will be an opportunity for him to enhance that part of his portfolio and do it well.

The board agreed to hold expected votes within this non-public session, so that the minutes can be sealed until Thursday at 12 pm in order to provide Ms. Reid with the time she needs to inform members of the legislature of the board's decision in advance of the public announcement.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Baines and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to approve the nomination of Dr. Rubinstein as Chancellor of the Community College System of NH at a salary of \$330K together with usual and customary benefits generally consistent with those described in the draft offer letter; for a three-year term commencing on or about September 1, 2021, with the option to extend two additional years by mutual agreement; said approvals subject to a satisfactory background check as determined by the Trustees.



Ms. Shields thanked Mr. Cozzens and Mr. Holloway for their contributions as members of the CCSNH Chancellor Search Committee.

Chancellor Huard left the meeting at 12:22 pm.

Ms. Shields proposed a contract extension through August 31, 2021 and a retention incentive of \$8,000 in recognition of Chancellor Huard's willingness to stay through Dr. Rubinstein's start date. Mr. Holloway made a motion and Mr. Baines seconded to approve the contract extension and retention incentive as presented, but they rescinded the original motion in favor of the alternate proposal brought forward by Ms. Stebbins, who suggested an increased retention incentive and the addition of a salary increase commensurate to the former Chancellor's salary in recognition of Chancellor Huard's leadership and strong performance over the course of this particularly challenging academic year. All trustees agreed that the increased retention incentive and salary as proposed by Ms. Stebbins are warranted.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Holloway and seconded by Mr. Baines, voted unanimously by roll call to approve the extension of Interim Chancellor Susan Huard's appointment through August 31, 2021 at the same bi-weekly wage rate of \$11,885 plus a retention incentive of \$10,000 to be paid in two equal installments on July 30th and September 1st, effective July 1, 2021. The appointment may be extended up to three months at the discretion of the Chair, contingent on the timing of the new Chancellor's appointment and start date.

The non-public session adjourned at 12:28 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees