

## **Board of Trustees**

## COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of April 21, 2021

Present (teleconference): Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Acting Chair), Trustee Robert Baines (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary), Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Todd Emmons, Trustee Jeff Cozzens, Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Hollie Noveletsky, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Interim Chancellor Susan Huard

Regrets: Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Trustee Megan Elwell, Trustee Alexander Johnson, Trustee Bryant Abbott, President Brian Bicknell (MCC), President Lucille Jordan (NCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Gretchen Mullin-Sawicki (NHTI), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Alfred Williams (RVCC), Interim President Cathryn Addy (GBCC), Governor Christopher Sununu, Commissioner Copadis (NH Department of Employment Security), Commissioner Frank Edelblut (Department of Education), Commissioner Taylor Caswell (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs)

Others Presenting to the Board (teleconference): Mark Broth (Drummond Woodsum), Sara Sawyer (CCSNH), Joseph McConnell (CCSNH Chief Negotiator)

Chair Shields called the meeting to order at 1:04 pm and called the roll. Regarding the conduct of a telephonic meeting and counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location, the Chair declared an emergency meeting in order to follow social distancing guidelines related to the current public health crisis, pursuant to RSA 91-A: 2 (III)(b). No conflicts of interest were expressed.

## Non-Public Session

**VOTE:** The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A: 3, II (a), in order to discuss personnel matters.

The Board entered non-public session at 1:05 pm and returned to public session at 1:57 pm. Two votes were taken in the non-public session.

**VOTE:** The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Heath, voted unanimously by roll call to seal the minutes based upon RSA 91- A:3, III, in that divulgence of the information may affect adversely the reputation of persons other than CCSNH voting trustees.

**VOTE:** The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Baines, voted unanimously by roll call to approve a one (1) year extension of the 2020-2021 Collective Bargaining Agreement for the Full-time Faculty Bargaining Unit, thereby continuing the Agreement through June 30, 2022; and



to authorize the re-opening of contract negotiations should the CSNH Board of Trustees retain its governance authority for the FY 2022 and FY 2023 biennium. Mr. Ellis abstained.

**VOTE:** The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to approve a one (1) year extension of the 2020-2021 Collective Bargaining Agreement for the Staff Bargaining Unit, thereby continuing the Agreement through September 30, 2022; and to authorize the re-opening of contract negotiations should the CSNH Board of Trustees retain its governance authority for the FY 2022 and FY 2023 biennium. Mr. Ellis abstained.

## **Other Business**

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 2:04 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees