

Board of Trustees

COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of April 3, 2020

Present (teleconference): Trustee Jeremy Hitchcock (Chair), Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary), Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Stephen Freeborn, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Richard Killion, Trustee Cheryl Kahn, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Megan Elwell, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Robert Baines, Trustee Jeff Cozzens, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Chancellor Ross Gittell

Regrets: Trustee Kenneth Stanley, Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Steven Hattamer, Governor Christopher Sununu, Commissioner Copadis (NH Department of Employment Security), Commissioner Frank Edelblut (Department of Education), Commissioner Taylor Caswell (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs), President Lucille Jordan (NCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Gretchen Mullin-Sawicki (NHTI), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Alfred Williams (RVCC), Interim President Cathryn Addy (GBCC), Interim President Brian Bicknell (MCC)

Others Presenting to the Board: Shannon Reid (CCSNH), Jeanne Herrick (CCSNH)

Chair Hitchcock called the meeting to order at 2:00 pm in the Chancellor's Office conference room, NHTI campus, Concord, NH. The Chair declared an emergency meeting in order to follow social distancing guidelines related to the current public health crisis, pursuant to RSA 91-A: 2 (III)(b).

Non-Public Session I

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A: 3, II (b), in order to discuss hiring of a public employee.

The Board entered non-public session at 2:04 pm and returned to public session at 2:15 pm. No votes were taken in the non-public session.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to seal the minutes under RSA 91- A: 3, III in that divulgence of the information may affect adversely the reputation of persons other than CCSNH voting trustees.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to appoint Dr. Brian Bicknell to President of Manchester Community College, at a bi-weekly wage rate of \$5405.73 bi-weekly or (\$140,549.00 if annualized) and assignment of a fleet vehicle for business and commuting purposes, effective April 6, 2020. The appointment will also include up to \$8,500.00 for reimbursement of moving expenses to New Hampshire.



Non-Public Session II

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Ms. Shields, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A: 3, II (b), in order to discuss hiring of a public employee.

The Board entered non-public session at 2:23 pm and returned to public session at 2:32 pm. No votes were taken in the non-public session. Chancellor Gittell left the meeting at 2:22 pm.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Ms. Shields, voted unanimously by roll call to seal the minutes under RSA 91- A: 3, III in that divulgence of the information may affect adversely the reputation of persons other than CCSNH voting trustees.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Heath, voted unanimously by roll call to appoint Dr. Susan Huard to Interim Chancellor of the Community Colleges System of NH, at a bi-weekly wage rate of \$9,038.46 (\$235,000 if annualized) and assignment of a fleet vehicle for business and commuting purposes, effective April 27, 2020 through June 30, 2021. The appointment may be extended up to three months at the discretion of the Chair, contingent on the timing of a new Chancellor's selection and start date.

Other Business

Chair Hitchcock reported that the next full meeting of the board, scheduled for April 23, 2020, will focus on remote instructions and include updates from the committee chairs in the work and progress of each committee.

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 2:36 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees