

Board of Trustees

COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of March 19, 2020

Present (teleconference): Trustee Jeremy Hitchcock (Chair), Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary), Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Stephen Freeborn, Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Richard Killion, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Kenneth Stanley, Trustee Robert Baines, Trustee Jeff Cozzens, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Trustee Megan Elwell, Chancellor Ross Gittell, President Lucille Jordan (NCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Gretchen Mullin-Sawicki (NHTI), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Alfred Williams (RVCC), Interim President Cathryn Addy (GBCC), Interim President Brian Bicknell (MCC)

Regrets: Trustee Cheryl Kahn, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Steven Hattamer, Governor Christopher Sununu, Commissioner Copadis (NH Department of Employment Security), Commissioner Frank Edelblut (Department of Education), Commissioner Taylor Caswell (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs)

Others Presenting to the Board: Charles Ansell (CCSNH), Shannon Reid (CCSNH), Jeanne Herrick (CCSNH), Tim Allison (CCSNH)

Executive Session

VOTE: The board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Calhoun, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct an executive session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:2, I (a) to discuss strategy with respect to collective bargaining.

The Board entered executive session at 5:34 pm and returned to public session at 5:45 pm. No votes were taken in the executive session.

Chair Hitchcock called the meeting to order at 5:47 pm in the Chancellor's Office conference room, NHTI campus, Concord, NH. The Chair declared an emergency meeting in order to follow social distancing guidelines related to the current public health crisis, pursuant to RSA 91-A: 2 (III)(b).

VOTE: The board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Holloway, voted unanimously by roll call to approve the 2020-2021 full-time faculty collective bargaining agreement.

COVID-19 Update

Chancellor Gittell noted that the response to COVID-19 was covered extensively at the committee meetings. The board commended the colleges, presidents, and system for their efforts.

Non-Public Session I

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Hitchcock, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:3, II(d), in order to



discuss consideration of the acquisition, sale, or lease of real or personal property which, if discussed in public, would likely benefit a party or parties whose interests are adverse to those of the general community.

The Board entered non-public session at 5:53 pm and returned to public session at 6:10 pm. One vote was taken in the non-public session. Mr. Freeborn and Mr. Slovenski joined the meeting at 6:06 pm.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Holloway and seconded by Mr. Hitchcock, voted by roll call to seal the minutes, as divulgence of the information presented would render the proposed action ineffective, under RSA 91-A:3, III.

Non-Public Session II

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Freeborn, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A: 3, II (b), in order to discuss hiring of a public employee.

The Board entered non-public session at 6:13 pm and returned to public session at 6:31 pm. No votes were taken in the non-public session.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Ms. Stebbins, voted by roll call to seal the minutes under RSA 91- A: 3, III in that divulgence of the information may affect adversely the reputation of persons other than CCSNH voting trustees.

Other Business

Mr. Ellis requested that a letter be drafted from the Board of Trustees to NHTI Men's Basketball Coach Paul Hogan congratulating him and the team on their title win.

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 6:32 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees