

Board of Trustees

COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of January 16, 2020

Present: Trustee Jeremy Hitchcock (Chair), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary, teleconference), Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Stephen Freeborn, Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Richard Killion, Trustee Cheryl Kahn, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee John Stevens (teleconference), Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Kenneth Stanley, Trustee Megan Elwell, Trustee Robert Baines, Trustee Jeff Cozzens, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Chancellor Ross Gittell, President Lucille Jordan (NCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Gretchen Mullin-Sawicki (NHTI), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Alfred Williams (RVCC), Interim President Cathryn Addy (GBCC), Interim President Brian Bicknell (MCC)

Regrets: Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Vice Chair), Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Steven Hattamer, Governor Christopher Sununu, Commissioner Copadis (NH Department of Employment Security), Commissioner Frank Edelblut (Department of Education), Commissioner Taylor Caswell (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs)

Others Presenting to the Board: Charles Ansell (CCSNH), Shannon Reid (CCSNH), Jeanne Herrick (CCSNH), Tim Allison (CCSNH), Sara Sawyer (CCSNH), Joe McConnell (CCSNH Chief Negotiator)

Chair Hitchcock called the meeting to order at 12:19 pm in the Crystal Ballroom at the Mountain View Grand Resort in Whitefield, NH.

Non-Public Session I

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Heath, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A: 3, II (a), in order to discuss a personnel matter.

The Board entered non-public session at 12:20 pm. and returned to public session at 12:29 pm. One vote was taken in the non-public session.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Ms. Lucas, voted by roll call to seal the minutes based upon RSA 91- A : 3, III, in that divulgence of the information may affect adversely the reputation of persons other than CCSNH voting trustees.

Non-Public Session II

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Ms. Kahn, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:3, II (c), in order to discuss a confidential matter.



The Board entered non-public session at 12:31 pm. and returned to public session at 12:34 pm. One vote was taken in the non-public session.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Calhoun, voted by roll call to seal the minutes based upon RSA 91-A:3, III that divulgence of the information likely would render the proposed action ineffective.

Executive Session

VOTE: The board, on motion of Mr. Smith and seconded by Mr. Ellis, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct an executive session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:2, I (a) to discuss strategy with respect to collective bargaining.

The Board entered executive session at 12:34 pm and returned to public session at 1:21 pm. No votes were taken in the executive session.

- **VOTE:** The board, on motion of Mr. Stanley and seconded by Ms. Kahn, voted unanimously by roll call to approve the 2019-2021 staff collective bargaining agreement between CCSNH and the State Employees Association, SEIU local 1984.
- **VOTE:** The board, on motion of Mr. Hitchcock and seconded by Mr. Calhoun, voted unanimously by roll call to reject the factfinder's report pertaining to adjunct faculty as presented and as recommended by the presidents and the management negotiating team.

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 1:23 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees