Tuition Freeze at NH Community Colleges

Tuition Freeze at NH Community Colleges

June 27, 2013
For immediate release
Contact: Shannon Reid, Director of Communications
230-3504 (office), 568-5599 (cell) or


Tuition Freeze at NH Community Colleges


Concord, NH - Tuition at New Hampshire’s community colleges for the 2013-14 academic year will remain at last year’s level pursuant to a unanimous vote of the board of trustees of the community college system of New Hampshire (CCSNH) today (Thursday, June 27, 2013).  

“New Hampshire’s community colleges deliver high quality, outstanding opportunities in career fields and transfer pathways, and they are within reach of every New Hampshire family and potential student,” said Paul Holloway, chairman of the CCSNH board of trustees.    “Keeping community colleges affordable enables not only the economic advancement of our state’s residents and families, but also the continued growth of an innovation-based economy which relies on a highly-skilled workforce.”

This marks the fourth time since 2006 that New Hampshire’s community colleges have not raised tuition.  Ross Gittell, chancellor of CCSNH, said that holding the line on educational costs is critical to advance New Hampshire’s economy.   Gittell cited research from the Georgetown University Center for Education and the Workforce showing that in order for NH to sustain current levels of economic competitiveness, the State must increase the number of residents with a college degree or certificate from 46% to 64% by 2018.  Gittell said that the most economical and effective way to achieve that benchmark is to increase opportunities at the community college level.  “By keeping community colleges affordable, we expand opportunities for New Hampshire residents to gain higher education and workforce skills, improve their lives and employment prospects, and support economic growth in the State,” Gittell said.

The Community College System serves more than 27,000 learners annually, 95% of whom are NH residents.  Associate degree and certificate programs prepare students for skilled employment in a wide array of career fields and for transfer to four-year colleges and universities.  CCSNH recently opened a new training center in Rochester in a partnership with local employers, focused on advanced composite manufacturing training along with other college offerings. 

“The community colleges partner with NH employers and industry groups to meet workforce needs and create education-to-career pathways in critical industries like advanced manufacturing, health, hospitality and STEM fields,” said Gittell.  “Affordability and access are essential to our population, from the young person just starting out on an educational pathway to the adult seeking retraining in a new career field.”  Gittell said the community colleges serve students of all ages, backgrounds and aspirations.

The vote to freeze tuition follows passage of the State budget which increased support for CCSNH.  System leaders had committed to Gov. Hassan and legislators that tuition would be frozen if the State could reverse the cuts made in the last biennial budget.   After taking the vote, System leaders expressed appreciation to the Governor and legislators for their support of higher education. 

In-state tuition for the 2013-14 academic year will remain at $210 per credit, or $630 for a 3-credit course.  Annually, a community college student will pay $5,040 in tuition for a minimum full-time course load.  Community college courses offered to high school students through the Running Start and eStart programs for dual high school and college credit will remain at $150 per course.

Tuition through the New England Regional Student Program remains $315 per credit, and out-of-state tuition is $478 per credit. 

 About CCSNH

The Community College System of NH consists of seven colleges, offering associate degree and certificate programs, professional training, transfer pathways to four-year degrees, and dual-credit partnerships with NH high schools. The System’s colleges are Great Bay Community College in Portsmouth and Rochester; Lakes Region Community College in Laconia; Manchester Community College; Nashua Community College; NHTI – Concord’s Community College; River Valley Community College in Claremont and Keene; and White Mountains Community College in Berlin and Littleton.