Holloway Re-elected

Holloway Re-elected

For Immediate Release  May 13, 2014                                                                    

Contact:  Shannon Reid, 230-3504 or   sreid@ccsnh.edu


Holloway Re-elected to Ninth Term
as Chairman of Community College System Board of Trustees

Slate of Officers Confirmed for 2014-15

Concord, N.H. –  Paul Holloway, business leader and philanthropist, of Rye, NH was elected to serve a ninth year-long term as Chairman of the Community College System Board of Trustees, at a recent meeting. Other officers re-elected to one-year terms were Katharine Bogle Shields of Canterbury, vice-chairman; Kim Trisciani of Hooksett, secretary; Ned Densmore of Franconia, treasurer; and Claudie Mahar of Amherst, immediate past chair. Mahar also chairs the Community Colleges of NH Foundation, which raises scholarship funds and other financial support for NH’s community colleges.  

Holloway joined the CCSNH board in 2004 and became Chairman in 2006. Under his leadership the Community College System became independent of State administration and restructured many of its operations. CCSNH enrollment has grown steadily over the last decade, reaching more than 27,000 students served annually by 2014. The system has developed key partnerships with industry and NH employers, strengthened transfer pathways to four-year colleges and partnerships with NH high schools, enhanced campus facilities, and set strategic goals to enhance student success and the economic impact of its offerings.  

“My affiliation with New Hampshire’s community colleges has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life,” said Holloway. “The community colleges provide a tremendous education that gives students of all ages and aspirations the tools to be successful. The community colleges strengthen New Hampshire’s economy and provide real value and benefit to NH taxpayers.”  

Holloway, president of Holloway Automotive Group and past president of the National Automobile Dealers Association, is the recipient of numerous honors and awards. In 2009 he was honored by the New England Board of Higher Education with the David C. Knapp award for trusteeship. In addition to serving on the Community College System’s board, Holloway was a trustee of the University System of NH for sixteen years, including four years as Chairman. The University of New Hampshire Peter T. Paul College of Business and Economics named Holloway its 2013 Paul College Entrepreneur of the Year, and Holloway was selected as one of New Hampshire's 10 most powerful people by Business N.H. Magazine.

Kathy Bogle Shields joined the board in 2009, and currently chairs the board’s audit committee. Ned Densmore has been a trustee since 2008, and chairs the finance committee.  Kim Trisciani has been a trustee since 2005, and chairs the personnel committee. Claudie Mahar first joined the board of governors in 1990 and has served continually since, transitioning to the board of trustees in 2005 and serving as chair from 1999-2005. For the past 5 years she has chaired the Foundation board. 




 About CCSNH

The Community College System of NH consists of seven colleges, offering associate degree and certificate programs, professional training, transfer pathways to four-year degrees, and dual-credit partnerships with NH high schools. The System’s colleges are Great Bay Community College in Portsmouth and Rochester; Lakes Region Community College in Laconia; Manchester Community College; Nashua Community College; NHTI – Concord’s Community College; River Valley Community College in Claremont and Keene; and White Mountains Community College in Berlin and Littleton.  Each college is accredited through the New England Association of Schools and Colleges-Commission on Institutions of Higher Education.